ShortScale Forum Index www.shortscale.org
Head 'n Neck Above
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
UploaderUploader   ShortScale WikiBuilder

Recommend a mandolin mic (UK)

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ShortScale Forum Index -> Musical Miscellany
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
NickS
.
.


Joined: 14 Jan 2008
Posts: 9230
Location: Nr. Basinggrad, UK

PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2016 10:11 am    Post subject: Recommend a mandolin mic (UK) Reply with quote

So someone said we really should use a mandolin for one of the songs we're doing. I took mine to practice Wednesday and they thought it was great, but trying to set up one of the vocal mics to suit it just takes too much time and trouble.

I am not in the market for a 390 mic like the DCA 4099V as recommended on a mandolin forum. The Shadow piezo bridge at 105 costs more than my mandolin did (I wish now my wife had paid the extra 20 for the one with a pickup). What I want is something I can slap on that provides a half-decent sound at under 40, as we'll only use it for half a song in a 30-song set in a live environment.

I've seen Lavalier mics for 10 and I've even seen a wireless kit for 39.99. Any recommendations?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bacchus
Whatever's handiest


Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 18866
Location: wandering

PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2016 1:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How satisfactory/awful would a cheap piezo transducer thingy be? If it was only one song, I'd certainly be wanting to find out if I can sort this out for a fiver before spending anything more on it.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NickS
.
.


Joined: 14 Jan 2008
Posts: 9230
Location: Nr. Basinggrad, UK

PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2016 11:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's an idea. There's this for 8.29 delivered...
.. not quite sure how the transducer attaches.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bacchus
Whatever's handiest


Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 18866
Location: wandering

PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2016 7:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

They're normally a sticky pad type thing I think. I've seen people use them on violins.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gabriel
.
.


Joined: 11 Apr 2010
Posts: 3135
Location: UK/US

PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2016 1:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thomann also offer an alternative to the DPA mics called the ovid series. Although they're by no means cheap, they're a lot more affordable than DPAs and sound pretty good.
_________________
www.gabrielwareing.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
NickS
.
.


Joined: 14 Jan 2008
Posts: 9230
Location: Nr. Basinggrad, UK

PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2016 11:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I remembered I have a bunch of cheap mics in broken headsets so first I'm going to try a cheap Sennheiser wedged under the scratchguard.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NickS
.
.


Joined: 14 Jan 2008
Posts: 9230
Location: Nr. Basinggrad, UK

PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2016 3:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, that didn't work because it's an electret mike that needs a voltage of 3.5v - 5v to drive the built-in FET buffer. Your PC or sound card mic input provides this. So while I'm thinking of how to incorporate a battery box in the line at low price, the cheapest solution is a nasty little piezo like the one I posted above, but found a little cheaper. It should be winging its way from Shenzhen even now... delivery by 27th April.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NickS
.
.


Joined: 14 Jan 2008
Posts: 9230
Location: Nr. Basinggrad, UK

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2016 11:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

>>This<< looks interesting, too. Easily removed and transferred, preamp, monitoring, second mic input? Lacks EQ, I guess.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bacchus
Whatever's handiest


Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 18866
Location: wandering

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2016 11:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's two transducers and three volume knobs? I don't see the benefit of not just running things to the desk anyway. I suppose it would be handy if you don't have a sound man or if you were playing by yourself or something.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NickS
.
.


Joined: 14 Jan 2008
Posts: 9230
Location: Nr. Basinggrad, UK

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2016 12:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

On Sunday night I was calling "more mandolin in the monitor please!" I guess it would get around that while making you look more of a plonker.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bacchus
Whatever's handiest


Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 18866
Location: wandering

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2016 12:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I suppose there is that, it would be useful for monitoring. I suppose that it's also probably good value, in that it's two mics instead of one, plus 1 x Main Device and 1 x Earphone for less than the price of two transducers (and I suspect if it was clunky/impractical it wouldn't be hard to break into separate miscs).

NickS wrote:
"more mandolin in the monitor please!"


Tellingly, this is not something I've ever had to shout.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NickS
.
.


Joined: 14 Jan 2008
Posts: 9230
Location: Nr. Basinggrad, UK

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2016 12:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried an Epiphone mandolin at lunchtime. It looked prettier but didn't play any better than the "Oldfield" my wife got me some years ago.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NickS
.
.


Joined: 14 Jan 2008
Posts: 9230
Location: Nr. Basinggrad, UK

PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2016 8:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

SO it arrived... that flange takes some wrangling to get over the strap button and then you don't have space for the strap. Instead I've attached it to the guard using one of the guard fixing screws and tucked the surplus cable under the guard. Hmm. I suppose that will damp the sounding board somewhat, so I might re-visit that.
Pic later.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NickS
.
.


Joined: 14 Jan 2008
Posts: 9230
Location: Nr. Basinggrad, UK

PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2016 5:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ShortScale Forum Index -> Musical Miscellany All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Anti Bot Question MOD - phpBB MOD against Spam Bots
Blocked registrations / posts: 595205 / 0

Guitars at Musician's Friend

Help support this site by clicking the above link!