ShortScale Forum Index www.shortscale.org
Head 'n Neck Above
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
UploaderUploader   ShortScale WikiBuilder

Pro-Tools.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ShortScale Forum Index -> Playing Technique, Theory, Recording Tips, and Talk
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
James
Nutmeg


Joined: 13 Jul 2006
Posts: 10645
Location: Boxingham Palace

PostPosted: Sun Feb 18, 2007 10:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mike wrote:
Bob.

I can do 10 ins and outs at once with Direct or Software Monitoring and 10 different foldback mixes, at 24-bit and 96kHz.

USB Blaze It is plenty fast enough, shove your wiki link up your arse.

Protools is overpriced trash.


It's certainly not trash, it is a bit pricey, but I like it still.

I've heard this "USB2 is a little faster than firewire" argument a lot and looked it up, and thought it was worth pointing out that it (according to wiki) isn't.

Pro tools is the shizzle.
_________________
Shabba.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike
I like EL34s


Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 38018
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2007 9:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So much hyperbole.

Why the fuck are you recommending this solution to someone who is starting out in recording? it's ridiculous. For less than half the price he can get the same results with existing hardware. Get off your protools box and actually give appropriate advice ffs.
_________________
MadeByMike.co.uk - Handmade Pedals and Custom Builds
Facebook - Twitter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
James
Nutmeg


Joined: 13 Jul 2006
Posts: 10645
Location: Boxingham Palace

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2007 12:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you can afford the hardware, I think it's worthwhile. Most people looking at this sort of thing will have played around with some free options before (basic things like kirstal or cracks of cubase or whatever). Pro Tools is much much easier to use than those.

I know that stuff like cubase can do the same things as pro tools, but ive always found pro tools to be quicker and easier, and to sound better in the end too.

I dont see it as bad advice just because of the price.
_________________
Shabba.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike
I like EL34s


Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 38018
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2007 2:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can;t discuss this with you, you're impossibly blinkered.

Sonar is better and cheaper for the beginner than Protools.
_________________
MadeByMike.co.uk - Handmade Pedals and Custom Builds
Facebook - Twitter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
James
Nutmeg


Joined: 13 Jul 2006
Posts: 10645
Location: Boxingham Palace

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2007 3:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why is Sonar better for a beginner? Ignoring the price issue, I'd like to hear reasons why.
_________________
Shabba.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike
I like EL34s


Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 38018
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2007 3:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

a) Simple learning curve
b) Easy use of FREE plugins from the internet
c) Independent of HW platform.
d) Will work on your existing computer
e) Does not involve OS Change
f) Windows program like enviroment

To ignore the huge importance of cost to the beginner is just retarded. it's the key fucking issue for most people starting out translating their recording to a computer based system
_________________
MadeByMike.co.uk - Handmade Pedals and Custom Builds
Facebook - Twitter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
James
Nutmeg


Joined: 13 Jul 2006
Posts: 10645
Location: Boxingham Palace

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2007 3:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mike wrote:
a) Simple learning curve
b) Easy use of FREE plugins from the internet
c) Independent of HW platform.
d) Will work on your existing computer
e) Does not involve OS Change
f) Windows program like enviroment

To ignore the huge importance of cost to the beginner is just retarded. it's the key fucking issue for most people starting out translating their recording to a computer based system


I meant what on what other points do you see sonar as better, not that the cost issue isnt at all important.

Im not about to say that Pro Tools is better than Sonar, simply because I havent used Sonar. The last cakewalk program I used was pro audio 9, and I imagine Sonar is a very big step up from that. Still....

The only point you make there that stands up is the hardware one, and now you have the option of using an M Audio setup anyway. I'd say you could probably get a 10 I/O setup for a similar price as yours if you do it that way, though I'm not sure of th cost of stand alone PT LE.

Pro tools has been the quickest to learn program that I've used. It works on windows (PT files can be mac/pc compatible so you can swap too) so you dont need to learn a new OS, and it will work on your existing computer if sonar will too. The windows like program environment goes there too.

The plugin thing, well I've never looked into buying new plugins for Pro Tools as I've never owned a copy myself. The built in EQ on Pro Tools 7.x is superb though, best built in EQ ive seen by far. The other ones are alright, nothing special, but decent for free ones.

You can get a VST > RTAS convertor and use any VST plugins with Pro Tools. I think from Pro Tools 7.x and up they just accept VST as well as RTAS now too.
_________________
Shabba.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike
I like EL34s


Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 38018
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2007 3:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mike wrote:
To ignore the huge importance of cost to the beginner is just retarded. it's the key fucking issue for most people starting out translating their recording to a computer based system

_________________
MadeByMike.co.uk - Handmade Pedals and Custom Builds
Facebook - Twitter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mattyb
.
.


Joined: 21 Jan 2008
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2008 8:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use a M Audio Fast Track w/ Garage Band '08. I've used the M-Audio Firewire400 and really liked it. I was going to get pro tools but my I can get the new Logic for MUCH cheaper so i'm going with that. For people like me who are just doing bed room recordings the new GB is really good and has more than enough to have good recordings.
_________________
http://www.facebook.com/pages/DinoBot/128025327209568
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
Sublimedo
.
.


Joined: 13 Aug 2006
Posts: 2641
Location: SO CAL

PostPosted: Thu Sep 04, 2008 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

<3 PRO TOOLS!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
Ninja Mike 808
.
.


Joined: 14 Jan 2008
Posts: 1643
Location: DFW

PostPosted: Fri Sep 05, 2008 12:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fuck Pro Tools. I only own it for the convenience, if tons of people didn't use it, I wouldn't even say it's name.

I'm sorry for the profanity.
_________________
If you think of god as a pair of pants, a spiritualist thinks he needs pants, in fact he wants pants but none of the conventional types of pants seem to fit just right, so he makes his own pants and is happy that his knees are no longer cold.-fibus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
dots
BADmin


Joined: 17 Apr 2006
Posts: 1012504
Location: on the move

PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 4:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

if i had the money, i'd go in on a pro-tools rig because so much is written for it. instead, i'll go with sonar since it's so easy and powerful.


btw, did digidesign ever get their shit into the usb sock or not? not that it matters to me as i use firewire stuff, but having the option is definitely nice. usb stuff tends to be far less spendy, too.
_________________
robroe wrote:
I'm fuckin old dudes

jcyphe wrote:
But the people need that wiggle stick.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Ninja Mike 808
.
.


Joined: 14 Jan 2008
Posts: 1643
Location: DFW

PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 7:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dots wrote:
if i had the money, i'd go in on a pro-tools rig because so much is written for it. instead, i'll go with sonar since it's so easy and powerful.


btw, did digidesign ever get their shit into the usb sock or not? not that it matters to me as i use firewire stuff, but having the option is definitely nice. usb stuff tends to be far less spendy, too.


Yea, DD has all the MBoxes in either USB or FW... I have the micro, so it's USB only...
_________________
If you think of god as a pair of pants, a spiritualist thinks he needs pants, in fact he wants pants but none of the conventional types of pants seem to fit just right, so he makes his own pants and is happy that his knees are no longer cold.-fibus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
dots
BADmin


Joined: 17 Apr 2006
Posts: 1012504
Location: on the move

PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 7:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

but will it write to usb? previous versions (as far as i understood them anyway) didn't go to anything external that wasn't scsi or 1394.
_________________
robroe wrote:
I'm fuckin old dudes

jcyphe wrote:
But the people need that wiggle stick.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Ninja Mike 808
.
.


Joined: 14 Jan 2008
Posts: 1643
Location: DFW

PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 7:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dots wrote:
but will it write to usb? previous versions (as far as i understood them anyway) didn't go to anything external that wasn't scsi or 1394.


Whatchu mean write to USB? You can save everything to a USB HDD if you want... I've heard of people reading PT off external HDDs before, but most think that it's too slow...
_________________
If you think of god as a pair of pants, a spiritualist thinks he needs pants, in fact he wants pants but none of the conventional types of pants seem to fit just right, so he makes his own pants and is happy that his knees are no longer cold.-fibus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
Al_
.
.


Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 509038
Location: Vista, CA

PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 8:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

For PT it's best to keep the software and audio files on different drives. Most people put the software on their system drive and then used separate internal or external drives for the audio and session files. I've heard that the firewire drives perform better than USB, but that's a few years old now maybe the newere USB drives are different story. PT was picky also about the drive speed and 1394 chip set. They have compatibility documents on their website if it's under serious consideration.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ninja Mike 808
.
.


Joined: 14 Jan 2008
Posts: 1643
Location: DFW

PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 8:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are we talkin' Pro Tools LE or HD?
_________________
If you think of god as a pair of pants, a spiritualist thinks he needs pants, in fact he wants pants but none of the conventional types of pants seem to fit just right, so he makes his own pants and is happy that his knees are no longer cold.-fibus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
Al_
.
.


Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 509038
Location: Vista, CA

PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 9:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, LE. I don't know anything abut HD systems. Well, I know the cards operate off internal processors so it's all probably different.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ninja Mike 808
.
.


Joined: 14 Jan 2008
Posts: 1643
Location: DFW

PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 9:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

All the cards do, besides act as an interface is help run certain types of plugs...

I never knew people kept their PT set-up separate, tho, gtk
_________________
If you think of god as a pair of pants, a spiritualist thinks he needs pants, in fact he wants pants but none of the conventional types of pants seem to fit just right, so he makes his own pants and is happy that his knees are no longer cold.-fibus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
vivadeluxxe
.
.


Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 1288
Location: Manchester

PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 2:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah it's always best to run audio files from a separate drive to your audio software and operating system especially using laptops, and also to use drives with a speed of 7200rpm
_________________
http://vivadeluxxe.bandcamp.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ShortScale Forum Index -> Playing Technique, Theory, Recording Tips, and Talk All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
Page 3 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Anti Bot Question MOD - phpBB MOD against Spam Bots
Blocked registrations / posts: 602754 / 0

Guitars at Musician's Friend

Help support this site by clicking the above link!