ShortScale Forum Index www.shortscale.org
Head 'n Neck Above
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
UploaderUploader   ShortScale WikiBuilder

Effects loop send ---> 4-track

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ShortScale Forum Index -> Playing Technique, Theory, Recording Tips, and Talk
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
hugh
.
.


Joined: 20 Dec 2009
Posts: 246
Location: the antipodes

PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2010 10:04 am    Post subject: Effects loop send ---> 4-track Reply with quote

This is probably a dumb question, but here goes anyways. Confused

I've just gotten a box of 100 audio tapes, and a better 4-track. I usually just plug the guitar straight into the 4-track, but now have a decent amp.

Is it okay to just plug the effects send straight to the 4 track? It shouldn't damage the amp right?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Johno
.
.


Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 1886
Location: East London

PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2010 1:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It won't damage the amp, just remember to check the levels on the 4 track. You'd get better results if you mic the amp up though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hugh
.
.


Joined: 20 Dec 2009
Posts: 246
Location: the antipodes

PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2010 7:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cool, thanks for that. I'm new to tube amps, and the fact that there needs to be a load connected, bla bla bla.

I don't own a mic at the moment and like the idea of being able to play with headphones on late at night.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mages
súper crujiente


Joined: 26 Mar 2008
Posts: 7435
Location: MD

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2010 1:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah, there's no load that needs to be connected at the effects loop. what you're doing here is using the effects loop as a line out. usually this sounds very bad. this is because the speaker itself is one of the most important parts of an electric guitars sound. it rolls off all this really nasty fizzy distortion.

if you want to record clean, the effects loop/line out method could work but you really don't need to even use an amp for that. just a direct box.
_________________
cogito ergo sum...thing or other...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
hugh
.
.


Joined: 20 Dec 2009
Posts: 246
Location: the antipodes

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2010 2:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmmm. Time to man up and get a cheap mic. Or a sansamp. Cheers for the replies.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
James
Nutmeg


Joined: 13 Jul 2006
Posts: 10645
Location: Boxingham Palace

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2010 2:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Get a mic. Definitely worth it and a cheap dynamic will do you fine.
_________________
Shabba.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ShortScale Forum Index -> Playing Technique, Theory, Recording Tips, and Talk All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Anti Bot Question MOD - phpBB MOD against Spam Bots
Blocked registrations / posts: 606616 / 0

Guitars at Musician's Friend

Help support this site by clicking the above link!