ShortScale Forum Index
www.shortscale.org
Head 'n Neck Above
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups      RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
UploaderUploader   ShortScale WikiBuilder

Jaguar Lead Circuit just DIED
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ShortScale Forum Index -> Short Scales
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
cobascis
.
.


Joined: 21 Jun 2008
Posts: 3830
Location: Mendocino, CA

PostPosted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 1:12 am    Post subject: Jaguar Lead Circuit just DIED Reply with quote

So I get to the recording studio, plug up, crank the bassman, and .. silence. I switch it over to the rhythm circuit, it works. The night before I adjusted the neck pickup and tightened some knobs, somehow it stopped working. Is there anything in teh guitar that could just 'break'? I just resoldered every joint, no change. I know the pickup works as I can use it in the rhythm circuit, but the entire lead curcuit is just gone. What possibly could have happened??
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Haze
.
.


Joined: 15 Jan 2008
Posts: 4924
Location: Tulsa, OK

PostPosted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 1:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

im thinking the rythm circuit switch is bonkered. my 64 does this, probably due to dust inside the switch. open her up and shoot some compressed air in the switch, give it a good wiggling and try try try again i guess. you can use a multi meter to check the switch if you have one handy, all guitarists should keep one handy for quickly troubleshooting things like this
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Mages
súper crujiente


Joined: 26 Mar 2008
Posts: 7439
Location: MD

PostPosted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 2:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

something is probably being grounded out. check to make sure nothing is touching anything it's not supposed to.

or, possibly something is not being grounded that is supposed to be grounded. so check that there's no ground wires unconnected.
_________________
cogito ergo sum...thing or other...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cobascis
.
.


Joined: 21 Jun 2008
Posts: 3830
Location: Mendocino, CA

PostPosted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 2:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

is this the general schematic I should check everything with? I remember having a nicer one at some point..


_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Asher
.
.


Joined: 14 Feb 2010
Posts: 340
Location: Venezuela

PostPosted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 5:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://www.jag-stang.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/10/jaguarSchematic.gif Question
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
James
Nutmeg


Joined: 13 Jul 2006
Posts: 10645
Location: Boxingham Palace

PostPosted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 5:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It sounds like where you tightened a pot you turned it internally and now something is touching something it shouldn't sending the output of the lead circuit to ground.
_________________
Shabba.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cobascis
.
.


Joined: 21 Jun 2008
Posts: 3830
Location: Mendocino, CA

PostPosted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 6:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is weird!

I can turn the lead channel volume pot off and you can hear it cut down the noise. What does this mean?
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Mages
súper crujiente


Joined: 26 Mar 2008
Posts: 7439
Location: MD

PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 4:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think that's perfectly normal. hum and noise should go away if you turn the volume all the way down.
_________________
cogito ergo sum...thing or other...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cobascis
.
.


Joined: 21 Jun 2008
Posts: 3830
Location: Mendocino, CA

PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 5:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mage wrote:
I think that's perfectly normal. hum and noise should go away if you turn the volume all the way down.

Well, yes - but in combination with no guitar signal? It is normally like that but its odd that that still happens when it seemingly stopped working. What could have happened? I went over it again today, redid more solder joints. I am totally miffed. Bizarre
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Haze
.
.


Joined: 15 Jan 2008
Posts: 4924
Location: Tulsa, OK

PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 6:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

the pot is the last thing in line before it goes to the jack [right?] so technically it is still sending whatever noise/hum you're getting to the jack. Good thing is, that noise is usually amplified by the pickups [right?] so it shouldn't be anything south of that [RIGHT?]

sorry if my poor attempt at nerding has failed, just my potentially worthless input
but seriously, multimeter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Shaguar
.
.


Joined: 05 Nov 2008
Posts: 406
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 11:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you have a meter? If not try to get one and meter things out.
_________________
No.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cobascis
.
.


Joined: 21 Jun 2008
Posts: 3830
Location: Mendocino, CA

PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 3:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm going to a friends house with a multimeter. What should I check though? It suddenly sopped working so it's not like a solder joint stopped?
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Haze
.
.


Joined: 15 Jan 2008
Posts: 4924
Location: Tulsa, OK

PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 3:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

check everything starting from the jack.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cobascis
.
.


Joined: 21 Jun 2008
Posts: 3830
Location: Mendocino, CA

PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 11:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So I brought a digital meter home, and on every solder joint I've checked it says 1. I checked ends of wires, too, all '1'. How do I check the switches?
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Mages
súper crujiente


Joined: 26 Mar 2008
Posts: 7439
Location: MD

PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 11:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would start by selecting the ohmmeter, going to the ends of the pickups and checking that the pickup is giving the number of ohms expected (not sure about jag pickups, but I think it's something like 6 or 7k), then keeping the common test lead where it is and moving the other down the signal chain to see at what point things start to mess up.
_________________
cogito ergo sum...thing or other...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cobascis
.
.


Joined: 21 Jun 2008
Posts: 3830
Location: Mendocino, CA

PostPosted: Mon Mar 08, 2010 12:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mage wrote:
I would start by selecting the ohmmeter, going to the ends of the pickups and checking that the pickup is giving the number of ohms expected (not sure about jag pickups, but I think it's something like 6 or 7k), then keeping the common test lead where it is and moving the other down the signal chain to see at what point things start to mess up.


end of the pickup leads?
ugh this is pissing me off, everything seems in working order..
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Mages
súper crujiente


Joined: 26 Mar 2008
Posts: 7439
Location: MD

PostPosted: Mon Mar 08, 2010 12:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah.
_________________
cogito ergo sum...thing or other...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cobascis
.
.


Joined: 21 Jun 2008
Posts: 3830
Location: Mendocino, CA

PostPosted: Mon Mar 08, 2010 12:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mage wrote:
yeah.


common test lead is red?
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Mages
súper crujiente


Joined: 26 Mar 2008
Posts: 7439
Location: MD

PostPosted: Mon Mar 08, 2010 12:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

well, whatever one you plug into "COM", Smile
_________________
cogito ergo sum...thing or other...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cobascis
.
.


Joined: 21 Jun 2008
Posts: 3830
Location: Mendocino, CA

PostPosted: Mon Mar 08, 2010 12:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

its on the ohm setting but if I put one .. 'thing' to each lead it just stays at '0L'

huh.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ShortScale Forum Index -> Short Scales All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Anti Bot Question MOD - phpBB MOD against Spam Bots
Blocked registrations / posts: 683391 / 0

Guitars at Musician's Friend

Help support this site by clicking the above link!