ShortScale Forum Index www.shortscale.org
Head 'n Neck Above
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
UploaderUploader   ShortScale WikiBuilder

what's your recording setup and why ?
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ShortScale Forum Index -> Playing Technique, Theory, Recording Tips, and Talk
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
kim
[='±'=]


Joined: 30 May 2006
Posts: 12084
Location: BE

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 4:47 pm    Post subject: what's your recording setup and why ? Reply with quote

share plz. i'm at a loss. all my equipment is fighting all my equipment, it's driving me nuts. problems problems. Sad
especially latency, lantency is the biggest prick in the world.

so.. your setup..esp. when it comes to simple/cheap home recording mixers, what's your stuff ?
_________________
http://www.myspace.com/lemiacis

www.myspace.com/heavium
i dunketh MC's like a crumpet in my tea
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Reece
.
.


Joined: 14 Jan 2008
Posts: 10347
Location: Kent, UK

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 4:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Simple setup - 4 track and a self-powered condenser mic.
PC Setup - USB Condenser (I know, I need an interface) into Sonar.

Latency is alright for me, even with the USB mic, what sound drivers are you using?
_________________
http://alligatr.co.uk/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kim
[='±'=]


Joined: 30 May 2006
Posts: 12084
Location: BE

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 4:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

that's it, it's just a standard pc with xp on it and i'm stuck with audacity for a while. the soundcard freaks out when i put a mic into the mic input and record my amp because it's loud and i've an m audio solo interface that just crapped out (perfect timing idiot) and a behringer guitar to usb kinda thing that DOESN'T TAKE A MIC INPUT ONLY GUITAR WTF????

so yeah... i was thinking of getting a cheap tapco or behringer mixer ? but surely that won't get rid of the latency either ...
_________________
http://www.myspace.com/lemiacis

www.myspace.com/heavium
i dunketh MC's like a crumpet in my tea
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike
I like EL34s


Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 38018
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 4:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

heavium wrote:
i've an m audio solo interface that just crapped out (perfect timing idiot)


ROLF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
BobArsecake
a mannequin made by madmen


Joined: 24 Apr 2006
Posts: 10655
Location: Elland-Straße ist der einzige Ort für uns

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 4:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have to just play and remember it in my brain :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Reece
.
.


Joined: 14 Jan 2008
Posts: 10347
Location: Kent, UK

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 4:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah. Audacity doesn't let me change to ASIO drivers so it's always got really bad latency.
_________________
http://alligatr.co.uk/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kim
[='±'=]


Joined: 30 May 2006
Posts: 12084
Location: BE

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 7:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

it does right ? i haaaaate it !!!!! i miss garageband, it's so fun and easy
_________________
http://www.myspace.com/lemiacis

www.myspace.com/heavium
i dunketh MC's like a crumpet in my tea
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stewart
Cunning Linguist


Joined: 14 Jul 2008
Posts: 17625
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 7:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i recorded that pixies submission on audacity and it was ok, but i tried something else and it kept fucking up and crashing, so i gave up. i've got logic on my mac at home, but i'm never there, and don't have much in the way of guitar gear there so i don't get much chance to use it...

how's this for the most bozo recording setup known to man?

a couple of years ago i had a demo version of ableton live but didn't fancy shelling out on the full version, and you can't save or export on the demo. so i'd record my tracks, leave the computer running til i was finished, then run a line out through my sampler and back into sound studio, do a few different stereo mixes and pick the best one. if the program crashed or someone switched the computer off i'd lose everything. utter nonsense, but it's funny how quickly you learn to make do with what you've got.

i downloaded a hooky version of cool edit from mininova for using on a PC a while back, it's a pretty good program if you can get hold of it. better than audacity anyway. give it a try if you can find it.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Reece
.
.


Joined: 14 Jan 2008
Posts: 10347
Location: Kent, UK

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 8:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

By the way kim i forgot to say, Audacity does have a built in workaround for the latency. Just record two things that should match up exactly, then select the difference you get between them when you record (have to be EXACT).

See how long this is in milliseconds then goto edit > preferences. Theres a box labelled "latency correction" just put in the value as a minus number.
_________________
http://alligatr.co.uk/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kim
[='±'=]


Joined: 30 May 2006
Posts: 12084
Location: BE

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 8:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for the tip ! will do that !!
_________________
http://www.myspace.com/lemiacis

www.myspace.com/heavium
i dunketh MC's like a crumpet in my tea
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arcadedave
.
.


Joined: 26 Dec 2006
Posts: 1321
Location: Goldheart Mountaintop

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 8:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Zoom H2 -> Audacity.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Ian
.
.


Joined: 03 Feb 2007
Posts: 554
Location: What do?

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 9:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote



Here is my rack as it stands today.

Hoping to fill in those gaps with more cool pre's. and the top half rack space with 8 more channels of conversion via aphex 142.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
More Cowbell
.
.


Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 6206
Location: Jefferson, GA

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 9:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know how to use protools, didn't have alot of money and bought a Digi001 interface, I use some cheap presonus pre's and mxl mics until I git sum monies.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Mages
súper crujiente


Joined: 26 Mar 2008
Posts: 7435
Location: MD

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 11:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just bought an M-Audio Firewire 410:



it is pretty sweeeeeeeet. 2 analog inputs and 8 analog outputs. but it has optical input too so you can potentially have up to 8 inputs. does anyone have m-audio protools for MAC??? I can only find it for windows (let me know if you want it).


also I have the TASCAMs:



you should get a little 4 track to play with they're cheap and easy.
_________________
cogito ergo sum...thing or other...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Sloan
Sexy Predator


Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 11794
Location: Atlanta GA, USA!!!

PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 4:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote


I did everything from 2003-2007 with a Yamaha AW16G. I had to get some outboard preamps to add extra XLR inputs. I could do 8 tracks at once. I always mixed/"mastered" in the box and burned to cd all in the unit. It worked flawlessly, but I had been experimenting with software and it's just so much more flexible, I can really bend sounds to my will better. So I sold the AW16G.



For the past year, I've used my friend's Mackie Onyx 1604 w/ firewire to record tons of live shows. It works great. 16-ins, 4 groups, and lots of routing possibilities.
I would get one myself because it makes live recording so easy, but it's out of my price range. And people jizz all over the place about mackie and i don't like to hear it.



Now I'm using a Presonus FireStudio Project. It fit within my budget constraints at the time and has 8 mic pres - so basically i can still record 8 simultaneous channels. It has great routing for separate headphone mixes, but i haven't been able to use them yet (my blown up headphone amp is in TN anyway). It's been working flawlessly as my sound card since i installed it. Everything that produces sound on my computer works through it. My computer is old as shit now, but i can still mix about 20 tracks ok.

I'm a very minimal type of mixer, so I don't use a lot of effects - my bread and butter is gate/eq/compression/delay/reverb and that's almost all I'll use.

I haven't tracked a band or anything really other than live stuff since I moved to MD about a year ago, but I'm ready to do it. Supposedly, the FS Project will be daisy-chainable with other units in the future so I can get 16 tracks and like 32 headphone mixes or some crazy shit like that.
_________________
Record your next album with me in Atlanta, GA. It'll be a good time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
liams_coke_dealer
.
.


Joined: 30 Dec 2008
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 12:18 pm    Post subject: Re: what's your recording setup and why ? Reply with quote

heavium wrote:
share plz. i'm at a loss. all my equipment is fighting all my equipment, it's driving me nuts. problems problems. Sad
especially latency, lantency is the biggest prick in the world.

so.. your setup..esp. when it comes to simple/cheap home recording mixers, what's your stuff ?


Seriously, computer stuff can be expensive as. I have a Boss Portastudio, and i have found it pretty good. It gets the job done, and it sounds good when u put in the effort. It has good on board mic presets and Eq's and it has compression and limiting and Mastering and everything u need. Fcuk, i'll lend u my dvd on how to use it. Its all u need for good sounding tunes. and it has a decent drum machine built in and midi if u want to use other sample kits like synths and stuff.

Listen to some recent tunes recorded entirely on it if u care to.

My music Myspace
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DanHeron
.
.


Joined: 24 May 2008
Posts: 3483
Location: Manchester, UK

PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 12:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Line 6 Toneport with a Condenser mic. If I want to do something quick, which is most often, I use the amp modelling software instead of micing my amp. That records straight into Ableton Live which I use to sequence and mix everything. It works really well, CD quality recordings.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Jazzmasterfan
.
.


Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 83
Location: Guernsey

PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 5:10 pm    Post subject: Re: what's your recording setup and why ? Reply with quote

liams_coke_dealer wrote:
heavium wrote:
share plz. i'm at a loss. all my equipment is fighting all my equipment, it's driving me nuts. problems problems. Sad
especially latency, lantency is the biggest prick in the world.

so.. your setup..esp. when it comes to simple/cheap home recording mixers, what's your stuff ?


Seriously, computer stuff can be expensive as. I have a Boss Portastudio, and i have found it pretty good. It gets the job done, and it sounds good when u put in the effort. It has good on board mic presets and Eq's and it has compression and limiting and Mastering and everything u need. Fcuk, i'll lend u my dvd on how to use it. Its all u need for good sounding tunes. and it has a decent drum machine built in and midi if u want to use other sample kits like synths and stuff.

Listen to some recent tunes recorded entirely on it if u care to.

My music Myspace


I quite liked those tunes. Thought the drums were a bit too much up in the mix for In The Sun but I did like the tune.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kim
[='±'=]


Joined: 30 May 2006
Posts: 12084
Location: BE

PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 6:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i don't really use midi or fake synths or anything but i do most of the drums with this





but i'll always prefer live/acoustic drums just not so easy to record those on your own and when you live in a city not in the countryside and neighbors complain lol
_________________
http://www.myspace.com/lemiacis

www.myspace.com/heavium
i dunketh MC's like a crumpet in my tea
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
liams_coke_dealer
.
.


Joined: 30 Dec 2008
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Tue Jan 13, 2009 12:32 am    Post subject: Re: what's your recording setup and why ? Reply with quote

Jazzmasterfan wrote:
liams_coke_dealer wrote:
heavium wrote:
share plz. i'm at a loss. all my equipment is fighting all my equipment, it's driving me nuts. problems problems. Sad
especially latency, lantency is the biggest prick in the world.

so.. your setup..esp. when it comes to simple/cheap home recording mixers, what's your stuff ?


Seriously, computer stuff can be expensive as. I have a Boss Portastudio, and i have found it pretty good. It gets the job done, and it sounds good when u put in the effort. It has good on board mic presets and Eq's and it has compression and limiting and Mastering and everything u need. Fcuk, i'll lend u my dvd on how to use it. Its all u need for good sounding tunes. and it has a decent drum machine built in and midi if u want to use other sample kits like synths and stuff.

Listen to some recent tunes recorded entirely on it if u care to.

My music Myspace


I quite liked those tunes. Thought the drums were a bit too much up in the mix for In The Sun but I did like the tune.


Hey thanks very much, i really appreciate that. Yeah the drums are a bit high in the mix. i was trying to accentuate the rhythm section. maybe a little too much.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ShortScale Forum Index -> Playing Technique, Theory, Recording Tips, and Talk All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Anti Bot Question MOD - phpBB MOD against Spam Bots
Blocked registrations / posts: 602658 / 0

Guitars at Musician's Friend

Help support this site by clicking the above link!