ShortScale Forum Index www.shortscale.org
Head 'n Neck Above
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
UploaderUploader   ShortScale WikiBuilder

dynamic microphone question

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ShortScale Forum Index -> Playing Technique, Theory, Recording Tips, and Talk
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
blacktaxi
.
.


Joined: 02 Oct 2008
Posts: 537
Location: Kyiv, Ukraine

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 11:02 am    Post subject: dynamic microphone question Reply with quote

i have two inputs on my audiointerface. (it's e-mu 0202 USB).
one is MIC IN, with phantom power, and another is line/guitar in. (it says Hi-Z in, does that mean high impedance?).
both inputs are with on-board preamps. they both work as line inputs exactly the same.

now my question. can i use dynamic microphone with the line input? will it be as good as if i'd put it in dedicated MIC IN?
it think that would be cool to mic a guitar with two mics in stereo, but i'm not sure if that will work with my audiocard.

thanks.
_________________
i like chocolate, i like fudge
if i can't make any, i won't budge
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike
I like EL34s


Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 38015
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 11:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote



You have ONE mic input which can be used as a line or guitar input instead and ONE line only input (guitar or line).

Hi-Z = high impedance = guitar/bass.

You could plug a mic into the R input but it'll sound shit because:
a) the impedance won't match
b) as a result you probably won't be able to dial the Gain high enough to get a decent sound.

You could just buy a box or small mixer to preamp the mic and then inject that into the line in, or just get another Audio Interface with two mic preamps, like this:
http://www.rolandus.com/products/productdetails.aspx?ObjectId=703&ParentId=114
_________________
MadeByMike.co.uk - Handmade Pedals and Custom Builds
Facebook - Twitter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
blacktaxi
.
.


Joined: 02 Oct 2008
Posts: 537
Location: Kyiv, Ukraine

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 1:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

right, thanks for quick response. i think i'll get mic preamp/di box or something like that. changing audio interface is not an option at the moment.. (actually CBA to do this).
_________________
i like chocolate, i like fudge
if i can't make any, i won't budge
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sloan
Sexy Predator


Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 11794
Location: Atlanta GA, USA!!!

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 4:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Get one of these from radioshack or whatever:

_________________
Record your next album with me in Atlanta, GA. It'll be a good time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
DanHeron
.
.


Joined: 24 May 2008
Posts: 3483
Location: Manchester, UK

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 5:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had a similar thing with my Line6 Toneport. It has 1 xlr mic input, and then a guitar input and 2 line inputs (1/4"). Only the mic input had a knob to adjust mic gain. I first tried my mic in the line inputs and guitar inputs because i couldnt find an xlr cable but, because there wasn't a knob to increase the mic gain, the recordings came out really quiet- even with the onboard preamp at full volume. Then when I got hold of an XLR and went in through the mic input it all worked well and using the mic gain i got good clear and loud recordings.

I think Mike said that anyway, but there's an anecdote.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
blacktaxi
.
.


Joined: 02 Oct 2008
Posts: 537
Location: Kyiv, Ukraine

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 5:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sloan wrote:
Get one of these from radioshack or whatever:

what is it?
_________________
i like chocolate, i like fudge
if i can't make any, i won't budge
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sloan
Sexy Predator


Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 11794
Location: Atlanta GA, USA!!!

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 5:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

it's an impedance adapter for converting a low-z XLR signal for a hi-z 1/4" input.
_________________
Record your next album with me in Atlanta, GA. It'll be a good time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
blacktaxi
.
.


Joined: 02 Oct 2008
Posts: 537
Location: Kyiv, Ukraine

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 6:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sloan wrote:
it's an impedance adapter for converting a low-z XLR signal for a hi-z 1/4" input.

kool. i think this is the way. thanks.
_________________
i like chocolate, i like fudge
if i can't make any, i won't budge
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blacktaxi
.
.


Joined: 02 Oct 2008
Posts: 537
Location: Kyiv, Ukraine

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 6:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i googled on "impedance adapter" and found this: http://homerecording.com/impedance.html
_________________
i like chocolate, i like fudge
if i can't make any, i won't budge
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ShortScale Forum Index -> Playing Technique, Theory, Recording Tips, and Talk All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Anti Bot Question MOD - phpBB MOD against Spam Bots
Blocked registrations / posts: 594753 / 0

Guitars at Musician's Friend

Help support this site by clicking the above link!