ShortScale Forum Index www.shortscale.org
Head 'n Neck Above
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
UploaderUploader   ShortScale WikiBuilder

Noisy Jagmaster
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ShortScale Forum Index -> Short Scales
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
taylornutt
.
.


Joined: 17 Sep 2009
Posts: 4626
Location: Dallas, TX

PostPosted: Fri Dec 18, 2009 5:15 am    Post subject: Noisy Jagmaster Reply with quote

I have a custom Jagmaster with Lindy Fralin Texas Special Jazzmaster pickups. I am having trouble with a noisy pickup selector switch. The switch was brand new when I installed it. The 500K pots and wiring were the original that came with the Jagmaster and I wired them up to the pickups. Sounds like a grounding issue possibly. I also thought I heard it fading back and forth when it was in the middle pickup position between the pups.. I am currently playing .10s on it and it's tuned flat. ( Now that I have the Duo Sonic and Jaguar with .11s, the .10s on the Jagmaster feel really loose.) Any ideas on what I should check first?


_________________
J Mascis Jazzmaster | Baja Telecaster
AVRI Jaguar | 1967 Fender Coronado II |1977 Mullet-stang | 1973 Fender Bronco
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hotrodperlmutter
crescent fresh


Joined: 04 Apr 2009
Posts: 16657
Location: KCMO

PostPosted: Fri Dec 18, 2009 5:33 am    Post subject: Re: Noisy Jagmaster Reply with quote

taylornutt wrote:
Sounds like a grounding issue possibly.

_________________
theshadowofseattle wrote:
robroe wrote:
bad video no work sad bad fruit snack
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
analogsystem
.
.


Joined: 14 Jan 2008
Posts: 214
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Fri Dec 18, 2009 7:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Those Fralins should be hum canceling in the middle position I'd guess.

Fortunately you have a very simple wiring scheme. Id' open it up and re-touch all the connections to make sure they are sound, assuming you have verified the scheme is correct.

Check out some tele wiring diagrams as you could wire your guitar the same (2 pups, 3 way, master vol, master tone). You'd just need to transpose the the 3 way switch type from a std tele wiring diagram which is easy.

Also check that a "hot" isn't touching a ground somewhere (shielding inside?) though this would normally cause a short.

Does the guitar's hum change when you touch metal on the bridge? How about if you touch the metal of the guitar lead itself?

Also always do the "bonehead" test and try another cord, another amp, etc to make sure its the guitar.

Good luck!
_________________
www.wahwahexitwound.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chisa
.
.


Joined: 09 Feb 2009
Posts: 1638

PostPosted: Fri Dec 18, 2009 7:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you may have left the iron on the switch too long and damaged it
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
endsjustifymeans
Grown Up Punk


Joined: 10 Feb 2009
Posts: 19442
Location: Ball So Hard University

PostPosted: Fri Dec 18, 2009 8:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

chisa wrote:
you may have left the iron on the switch too long and damaged it


that. I did that to my duo-sonic when I was modding it. had to replace it.
_________________
dots wrote:
society is crumbling because of asshoels like ends

brainfur wrote:
I'm having difficulty reconciling my desire to smash the state & kill all white people with my desire for a new telecaster
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Joey
.
.


Joined: 27 Jul 2008
Posts: 1904
Location: Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Fri Dec 18, 2009 10:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Use a thin gauge solder from Radio Shack... not the thickass solder from Home Depot plumbing aisle. Radio Shack solder being so thin, melts super fast (less heat needed) and leaves nice shiney joints behind. And stay away from solder guns or at least use it on it's low setting, most have a dual setting (low/high) built into the trigger... when the gun starts vibrating loudly your on "high" (or the light gets bright). I use a 20 watt/40 watt Radio Shack pencil type solder iron, 40 watts is slow to warm up but it's all ya really need.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
taylornutt
.
.


Joined: 17 Sep 2009
Posts: 4626
Location: Dallas, TX

PostPosted: Sat Dec 19, 2009 2:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

analogsystem wrote:
Those Fralins should be hum canceling in the middle position I'd guess.

Fortunately you have a very simple wiring scheme. Id' open it up and re-touch all the connections to make sure they are sound, assuming you have verified the scheme is correct.

Check out some tele wiring diagrams as you could wire your guitar the same (2 pups, 3 way, master vol, master tone). You'd just need to transpose the the 3 way switch type from a std tele wiring diagram which is easy.

Also check that a "hot" isn't touching a ground somewhere (shielding inside?) though this would normally cause a short.

Does the guitar's hum change when you touch metal on the bridge? How about if you touch the metal of the guitar lead itself?

Also always do the "bonehead" test and try another cord, another amp, etc to make sure its the guitar.

Good luck!


The Fralins are reverse wound and do cancel when in the middle position. I will open it up tomorrow and take a peek at the wiring. I doubt I damaged the switch but I will keep that in mind. I shielded the inside using Shielding paint. I will photograph as I go and hopefully I can isolate the problem.
_________________
J Mascis Jazzmaster | Baja Telecaster
AVRI Jaguar | 1967 Fender Coronado II |1977 Mullet-stang | 1973 Fender Bronco
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pullover
.
.


Joined: 30 Nov 2009
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Sat Dec 19, 2009 3:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you have a multi-meter? If you don't then you should get one, and check your grounds throughout.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
taylornutt
.
.


Joined: 17 Sep 2009
Posts: 4626
Location: Dallas, TX

PostPosted: Sat Dec 19, 2009 3:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pullover wrote:
Do you have a multi-meter? If you don't then you should get one, and check your grounds throughout.


I have one, but I need to relearn how to use it. What should I set it to and what should I check out?
_________________
J Mascis Jazzmaster | Baja Telecaster
AVRI Jaguar | 1967 Fender Coronado II |1977 Mullet-stang | 1973 Fender Bronco
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pullover
.
.


Joined: 30 Nov 2009
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Sat Dec 19, 2009 4:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Put it on the lowest Ohms setting and pretty much everything that should be grounded check to the back of one of the pots (including the negative side of the pickups). The meter should read 0 through out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
taylornutt
.
.


Joined: 17 Sep 2009
Posts: 4626
Location: Dallas, TX

PostPosted: Sat Dec 19, 2009 4:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pullover wrote:
Put it on the lowest Ohms setting and pretty much everything that should be grounded check to the back of one of the pots (including the negative side of the pickups). The meter should read 0 through out.


Does the guitar need to be plugged into a cable while I am testing? Sorry I am an Computer Science guy, not an EE. But I learn quickly.
_________________
J Mascis Jazzmaster | Baja Telecaster
AVRI Jaguar | 1967 Fender Coronado II |1977 Mullet-stang | 1973 Fender Bronco
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mages
súper crujiente


Joined: 26 Mar 2008
Posts: 7439
Location: MD

PostPosted: Sat Dec 19, 2009 4:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you could make a cable to test the ohms of your pickups. just a just a normal guitar cable with one end bare wires would work. hook some test leads with alligator clips to your multimeter and clip the alligator clips to the bare wires on the guitar cable. then you can read the ohms of whatever pickup your selecting. at least I think that would work.
_________________
cogito ergo sum...thing or other...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Pullover
.
.


Joined: 30 Nov 2009
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Sat Dec 19, 2009 4:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No need to apologize. It doesn't need to be plugged in. Just hold one side to the back of a pot and then touch the other side to back of the other pot. Touch the shielding, the bridge or the strings, the outside of the plug, the neg side of the pickups, the back of the switch... If anything reads sketchy then you can touch a wire across it to see if you get rid of the noise. If this doesn't make sense I'm sorry, I've had a few drinks in me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pullover
.
.


Joined: 30 Nov 2009
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Sat Dec 19, 2009 4:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mage wrote:
you could make a cable to test the ohms of your pickups. just a just a normal guitar cable with one end bare wires would work. hook some test leads with alligator clips to your multimeter and clip the alligator clips to the bare wires on the guitar cable. then you can read the ohms of whatever pickup your selecting. at least I think that would work.

That will check the pickup through the volume and tone pots but it won't always tell you if it's grounded properly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
taylornutt
.
.


Joined: 17 Sep 2009
Posts: 4626
Location: Dallas, TX

PostPosted: Sat Dec 19, 2009 4:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pullover wrote:
No need to apologize. It doesn't need to be plugged in. Just hold one side to the back of a pot and then touch the other side to back of the other pot. Touch the shielding, the bridge or the strings, the outside of the plug, the neg side of the pickups, the back of the switch... If anything reads sketchy then you can touch a wire across it to see if you get rid of the noise. If this doesn't make sense I'm sorry, I've had a few drinks in me.


So after I touch both pots, I will keep one on the back of one pot and touch the other areas you mentioned? And it should give me a reading of 0.0?
_________________
J Mascis Jazzmaster | Baja Telecaster
AVRI Jaguar | 1967 Fender Coronado II |1977 Mullet-stang | 1973 Fender Bronco
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pullover
.
.


Joined: 30 Nov 2009
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Sat Dec 19, 2009 4:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

exactly, if you get something other than that then you can get a piece of wire and touch it across the affected area to see if your noise goes away. If you touch the wire across and all volume goes way then you've shorted across something that's not supposed to be shorted across.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pullover
.
.


Joined: 30 Nov 2009
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Sat Dec 19, 2009 4:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I might add that if you don't have it shielded then you should consider shielding it. I usually get some elmers spray adhesive; spray the back of some aluminum foil and then line the cavities and the bottom of the pickguard with foil. As long as everything is touching ground, it usually works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
taylornutt
.
.


Joined: 17 Sep 2009
Posts: 4626
Location: Dallas, TX

PostPosted: Sat Dec 19, 2009 5:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I played all my guitars again just to check my setup. My Duo Sonic and my Jaguar sound great. The Jagmaster seems to only be making noise when I touch the switch. The middle position sounds like it should. So at least it seems the switch is noisy for now. I just wanted to be sure of the symptoms before I open her up. My EE friend helped me sauder the switch, so I doubt we fried the switch but I won't know until later. Post pics soon.
_________________
J Mascis Jazzmaster | Baja Telecaster
AVRI Jaguar | 1967 Fender Coronado II |1977 Mullet-stang | 1973 Fender Bronco
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
analogsystem
.
.


Joined: 14 Jan 2008
Posts: 214
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Mon Dec 21, 2009 5:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You Jagmaster makes sound WHEN you touch metal so there is a ground issue. You are in effect, becoming an antenna when you touch metal on your guitar.

Did you ground the switch itself? Often that is left off wiring-diagrams. All metal parts need to be grounded (but only once or you got a loop).
_________________
www.wahwahexitwound.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fran
The Curmudgeon


Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 21148
Location: Nottingham, Englandshire.

PostPosted: Mon Dec 21, 2009 7:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NEEDS MASTERY BRIDGE!!
_________________
dezb1 wrote:
Stop fucking about and get an SD-1

robroe wrote:
I got a stomach ache. Anyone got any heroin? Or like a gun or something?

brandonwinmill wrote:
Maybe i'll sell my internet. It's lost its fun since i already beat it twice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ShortScale Forum Index -> Short Scales All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Anti Bot Question MOD - phpBB MOD against Spam Bots
Blocked registrations / posts: 631967 / 0

Guitars at Musician's Friend

Help support this site by clicking the above link!