ShortScale Forum Index www.shortscale.org
Head 'n Neck Above
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
UploaderUploader   ShortScale WikiBuilder

Multi-track recording questions

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ShortScale Forum Index -> Playing Technique, Theory, Recording Tips, and Talk
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
cobascis
.
.


Joined: 21 Jun 2008
Posts: 3829
Location: Mendocino, CA

PostPosted: Sun Oct 24, 2010 4:22 am    Post subject: Multi-track recording questions Reply with quote

What is the cheapest way of recording a minimum of 6 tracks simultaneously onto a DAW, (garageband or logic in my case) and having these tracks come up on the computer in 6 seperate tracks for mixing? It seems that getting a Behringer Xenyx would be the cheapest, but I was looking at:

http://www.echoaudio.com/Products/FireWire/AudioFire4/index.php

It says 6 inputs, but I only see 4. Would this suit my needs? I don't have to have a mixer, I just want to do bare bone drums (4 mics, tracks) and bass and guitar (2 tracks) all at once. Firewire is nice, too.

Eh?
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Mages
súper crujiente


Joined: 26 Mar 2008
Posts: 7435
Location: MD

PostPosted: Sun Oct 24, 2010 7:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

the S/PDIF In is a digital stereo input. so, another two channels. you need something that outputs digital audio to use it though. like this little mixer for example.........

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cobascis
.
.


Joined: 21 Jun 2008
Posts: 3829
Location: Mendocino, CA

PostPosted: Sun Oct 24, 2010 3:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could I not get the job done with this alone?

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/672861-REG/Behringer_1204USB_XENYX_1204USB_12_Channel.html

It says it is an audio interface, too. So I wouldn't need to get a firewire sound card or w/e.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Mages
súper crujiente


Joined: 26 Mar 2008
Posts: 7435
Location: MD

PostPosted: Sun Oct 24, 2010 11:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well, there's only four pre-amps. the rest are just line-in. so if you're planning on using six mics you will have to get two more pre-amps.

otherwise.... yeah, that will work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cobascis
.
.


Joined: 21 Jun 2008
Posts: 3829
Location: Mendocino, CA

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2010 12:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mages wrote:
well, there's only four pre-amps. the rest are just line-in. so if you're planning on using six mics you will have to get two more pre-amps.

otherwise.... yeah, that will work.


I have two ART TubeMP pres that I can use.. Will probably get better sound with them anyway for those two channels. Anyway, cool.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Mages
súper crujiente


Joined: 26 Mar 2008
Posts: 7435
Location: MD

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2010 12:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

oh ok, yeah totally. I would reserve those for things like the bass and/or kick. because they're tube they have a little more low end to them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
DanHeron
.
.


Joined: 24 May 2008
Posts: 3483
Location: Manchester, UK

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2010 1:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you should watch:

Link


With the Xenyx 1204USB you can't record all the inputs onto seperate tracks. The USB is a stereo in/out signal, so you can get max 2 tracks (by panning hard left and right). An interface which allows you to record onto 6 individual tracks is gonna cost a lot more, something like: http://pro-audio.musiciansfriend.com/product/M-Audio-Fast-Track-Ultra-8R-USB-Interface?sku=482555


Last edited by DanHeron on Mon Oct 25, 2010 1:12 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cobascis
.
.


Joined: 21 Jun 2008
Posts: 3829
Location: Mendocino, CA

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2010 1:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DanHeron wrote:
you should watch:
Link


you cant record all the inputs onto seperate tracks on the PC. It's just the main stereo output through the USB.


Really?? This is essentially my only requirement: to be able to record drums with each mic on a seperate channel in logic. I thought the USB interface would be able to do that... Sad
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Mages
súper crujiente


Joined: 26 Mar 2008
Posts: 7435
Location: MD

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2010 1:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ahhh, so you would have to create a sub-mix. sucks, but you could still just take some time to get a working drum mix and then just record the stereo mix. it wouldn't be anything like as flexible as if you had all the separate tracks. but it could still work. don't know if you need this interface to do this, you could use literally any cheapo mixer with literally any cheapo two channel interface and get the same results.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
DanHeron
.
.


Joined: 24 May 2008
Posts: 3483
Location: Manchester, UK

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2010 1:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah. I posted a couple of options in Doogs thread. They are a bit more pricey though than a mixer with the same amount of inputs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cobascis
.
.


Joined: 21 Jun 2008
Posts: 3829
Location: Mendocino, CA

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2010 1:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mages wrote:
ahhh, so you would have to create a sub-mix. sucks, but you could still just take some time to get a working drum mix and then just record the stereo mix. it wouldn't be anything like as flexible as if you had all the separate tracks. but it could still work. don't know if you need this interface to do this, you could use literally any cheapo mixer with literally any cheapo two channel interface and get the same results.


Yeah, I have a peavey mixer that I have been connecting via a 1/8 cable to my audio in on my Powerbook. I'm really looking to get the flexibility of multitrack recording... hmm. Any other cheapo mixers or interfaces offer this? The edirol?
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Mages
súper crujiente


Joined: 26 Mar 2008
Posts: 7435
Location: MD

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2010 5:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

well I think beyond four inputs you're moving into more midrange priced gear. stuff like dan recommend or the presonus firestudio or the focusrite saffire pro 40. I just got the focusrite. I don't really have a place to set up my gear right now though so I haven't tried it out yet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Mages
súper crujiente


Joined: 26 Mar 2008
Posts: 7435
Location: MD

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2010 5:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

check it out musicians friend has used Saffire Pro 40s for like $350. that's a really good deal. they are usually $500 and they're probably the best option in the their price range IMO.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mickie08
.
.


Joined: 14 Aug 2006
Posts: 5946
Location: Carlsbad, Ca

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2010 6:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You should also be able to find Presonus Firepods (8 channel) for around 300 or less used Dots and I have both had them.

I used to run a xenyx 2442 into it. The 2442 had direct outs for the first 8 channels, so I used the xenyx as my sound board and then just took the direct outs into the presonus with firewire out to the computer. It gave me an awesome sounding live system that could easily be used for live recording up to 8 chanels at once with almost zero hassle.

Of course, even used, that would run you about 600-700 for the 2 pieces and connecting cables.
_________________
They say great minds think alike....Sometimes we do too...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
rodvonbon
.
.


Joined: 27 Mar 2007
Posts: 1770
Location: Chicago, USA

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2010 6:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have 2 different set ups that I use for recording.
The first one is pci based and uses 4 A/D converters giving me 24 tracks of audio in/out plus 2 midi channels and 2 spdif. 2 of the cards handle 8 audio, 1 midi, 1 spdif each and the other 2 are straight 4 audio in/out. It's all routed through a 24X8 analog mixing desk that I use to preamp the mic signals and return to mix on. It's a major (old school) pain in the ass because I use it the same way I usta' record to tape and it's all routed through patch bays. It also requires a dedicated tower pc (with enough pci slots) to run all 4 cards/breakout boxes, video cards and the recording software.
The second, easier, set up I have is 2 Firepod interfaces that connect to a laptop via firewire. They are self contained and have built in preamps so there is no need for any kind of mixing desk to get input signals to your computer. Running 2 of them daisy chained gives me 16 tracks of audio in/out plus 2 channels of midi and 2 spdif.
The firepod has been replaced by a newer release by Presonus called the Firestudio, but the ones I have still hold up well and will do everything you want. If you can pick one up for cheap you will get 8 xlr/line inputs that you can plug microphones directly into with very little hassle.
_________________
Life is "Pointless......but manageable"


Last edited by rodvonbon on Mon Oct 25, 2010 8:12 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
rodvonbon
.
.


Joined: 27 Mar 2007
Posts: 1770
Location: Chicago, USA

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2010 7:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mickie08 wrote:
You should also be able to find Presonus Firepods (8 channel) for around 300 or less used Dots and I have both had them.

Haha, Mickie beat me to post on the Firepod. It's really a 10 channel converter because it supports 8 audio 1 midi and 1 spdif in/out.
Big bang for the buck.
_________________
Life is "Pointless......but manageable"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cobascis
.
.


Joined: 21 Jun 2008
Posts: 3829
Location: Mendocino, CA

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2010 9:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

so you'd heartily reccomend this guy?

http://cgi.ebay.com/Presonus-Firepod-FireWire-Recording-Interface-/320606609269?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item4aa5a49f75

looks perfect!
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Mages
súper crujiente


Joined: 26 Mar 2008
Posts: 7435
Location: MD

PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2010 2:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah the firepod. that's the one I was thinking of. I guess they stopped making it though, that's why I couldn't find it. but they do make this little guy with 8 inputs:

http://www.presonus.com/products/Detail.aspx?ProductId=58
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cobascis
.
.


Joined: 21 Jun 2008
Posts: 3829
Location: Mendocino, CA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2010 3:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mages wrote:
yeah the firepod. that's the one I was thinking of. I guess they stopped making it though, that's why I couldn't find it. but they do make this little guy with 8 inputs:

http://www.presonus.com/products/Detail.aspx?ProductId=58


Why do they word this in a different language [to me]?

Quote:
ten-input, six-output professional recording system


So -- this can do 8 tracks simultaneously whilst dividing them into 8 individual tracks on the DAW for later mixing? If so, I'm liking the size aspect, though I may go with the firepod for cheapness.

Thanks for all the advice!

EDIT: but the line inputs seemingly done have preamp... eh?
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
rodvonbon
.
.


Joined: 27 Mar 2007
Posts: 1770
Location: Chicago, USA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2010 12:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was wrong before, the Firepod was replaced by the FP10. I haven't looked through the specs, but it looks to be essentially the same thing.

http://www.presonus.com/products/Detail.aspx?ProductID=3
_________________
Life is "Pointless......but manageable"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ShortScale Forum Index -> Playing Technique, Theory, Recording Tips, and Talk All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Anti Bot Question MOD - phpBB MOD against Spam Bots
Blocked registrations / posts: 595448 / 0

Guitars at Musician's Friend

Help support this site by clicking the above link!