ShortScale Forum Index www.shortscale.org
Head 'n Neck Above
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups      RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
UploaderUploader   ShortScale WikiBuilder

Stupid mic question (Phantom power)

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ShortScale Forum Index -> Playing Technique, Theory, Recording Tips, and Talk
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gaybear
Inventor of the Blues


Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 9617
Location: hard corvallis, oregon

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2011 5:10 am    Post subject: Stupid mic question (Phantom power) Reply with quote

do most regular AI's provide phantom power, or do you need a mic pre?
_________________
plopswagon wrote:

Drunk and disorderly conduct is the cradle of democracy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
George
.
.


Joined: 03 Jul 2009
Posts: 20436
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2011 8:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Most semi-decent interfaces have a preamp with switchable phantom power (somtimes just indicated by "+48" near a button). Worth checking in the specs to be sure but it's pretty normal I feel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Freddy V-C
NOD FLANGERS


Joined: 17 May 2009
Posts: 4185
Location: Leeds

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2011 10:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

On the desks we use at uni, the phantom power switch is on the back (i.e. where the wall is) which is incredibly irritating.
_________________
BEIGE PALACE // PUDDIN' // THANK
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mages
súper crujiente


Joined: 26 Mar 2008
Posts: 7439
Location: MD

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2011 11:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

anything midrange and lower yes, it probably has phantom power. pro-level interfaces don't. they assume you'll be using a pre-amp.
_________________
cogito ergo sum...thing or other...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
UlricvonCatalyst
.
.


Joined: 14 Jun 2010
Posts: 767

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2011 1:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mages wrote:
anything midrange and lower yes, it probably has phantom power. pro-level interfaces don't. they assume you'll be using a pre-amp.

Surely a contender for Adam Buxton's next bug.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gaybear
Inventor of the Blues


Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 9617
Location: hard corvallis, oregon

PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2011 4:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks y'all!
_________________
plopswagon wrote:

Drunk and disorderly conduct is the cradle of democracy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
honeyiscool
.
.


Joined: 01 Feb 2011
Posts: 2072
Location: San Diego, California

PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2011 7:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Some low end ones don't, and some will only supply 12V, but most do supply a full 48V.
_________________
Kicking and squealing Gucci little piggy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ShortScale Forum Index -> Playing Technique, Theory, Recording Tips, and Talk All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Anti Bot Question MOD - phpBB MOD against Spam Bots
Blocked registrations / posts: 636150 / 0

Guitars at Musician's Friend

Help support this site by clicking the above link!