ShortScale Forum Index www.shortscale.org
Head 'n Neck Above
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
UploaderUploader   ShortScale WikiBuilder

Daft question: Is it possible to have 2 master volume pots?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ShortScale Forum Index -> Guitar Projects and Tech/Set-up
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
George
.
.


Joined: 03 Jul 2009
Posts: 20008
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2017 6:19 pm    Post subject: Daft question: Is it possible to have 2 master volume pots? Reply with quote

Bear with me...

Both my strats have master volume and master tone, so I don't know what to do with the second tone pot (fuck an blend pot).

Let's say I liked using a linear taper pot for controlling drive levels through an overdriven tube amp. But then could I add an audio taper pot that comes off that, that would control whatever-level-the-volume-pot-is-at down to zero, so you could use it for volume swells?

Is that possible?

So on a Strat (using common names for pots):

Neck tone = master volume
Volume = volume pot off master volume
Middle tone = master tone

AND with '50s wiring?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HNB
.
.


Joined: 15 Apr 2012
Posts: 4089
Location: Puyallup, WA

PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2017 6:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Seems like it is doable. Just have the master volume output go to a second volume input, then out to master tone input and jack.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
George
.
.


Joined: 03 Jul 2009
Posts: 20008
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2017 7:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nice. Will that change the "before" tone of the guitar in any way? Sorry, noob question.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HNB
.
.


Joined: 15 Apr 2012
Posts: 4089
Location: Puyallup, WA

PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2017 12:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Which volume pot the tone is tied to shouldn't really make a difference unless I am wrong. Since both volume pots are connected, changing the tone should impact them both. (I would connect the tone pot to what ever volume pot has input from the pickups I guess.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NickS
.
.


Joined: 14 Jan 2008
Posts: 9226
Location: Nr. Basinggrad, UK

PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2017 12:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's possible, but there will be interaction that will depend on values. For example, when both pots are at max they will be in parallel. You may therefore want to replace them with higher values to prevent tone suckage. If they are both 500K you'll end up with 250K impedance across your pickup. That may affect how your tone pot operates too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ShortScale Forum Index -> Guitar Projects and Tech/Set-up All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Anti Bot Question MOD - phpBB MOD against Spam Bots
Blocked registrations / posts: 594979 / 0

Guitars at Musician's Friend

Help support this site by clicking the above link!