ShortScale Forum Index www.shortscale.org
Head 'n Neck Above
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
UploaderUploader   ShortScale WikiBuilder

Pro-Tools.
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ShortScale Forum Index -> Playing Technique, Theory, Recording Tips, and Talk
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Blazin420ChronicSkunk
.
.


Joined: 08 Aug 2006
Posts: 53
Location: Pasadena, CA

PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 2:18 am    Post subject: Pro-Tools. Reply with quote

I'm looking into buying a computer, probably a Mac Laptop of some sort, and ProTools. I don't know shit about either though, and was wondering what you guys recommend. I want to be able to make good qaulity recordings, but not spend too much money.
_________________
http://www.myspace.com/sonicbloomtheband
Greed is a bottomless pit
And our freedom?s a joke
We?re just taking a piss
And the whole world must watch the sad comic display
If you?re still free start running away
Cause we?re coming for you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
theshadowofseattle
THE TAMPA BAY HERO


Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 62447
Location: Skrampa, FL

PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 2:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pro Tools requires a separate hardware interface, doesn't it?
_________________
gusman2x wrote:
wizard thickness

George wrote:
Yeah, thickness, nut
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blazin420ChronicSkunk
.
.


Joined: 08 Aug 2006
Posts: 53
Location: Pasadena, CA

PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 2:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If so, I will get it. I guess that's probably part of my question too, what do I need?
_________________
http://www.myspace.com/sonicbloomtheband
Greed is a bottomless pit
And our freedom?s a joke
We?re just taking a piss
And the whole world must watch the sad comic display
If you?re still free start running away
Cause we?re coming for you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
James
Nutmeg


Joined: 13 Jul 2006
Posts: 10645
Location: Boxingham Palace

PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 2:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is probably a bit out dated, but as basic overview.

To run pro tools you need an external interface. For a long time Digidesign made them exclusively, but now you can buy something M Audio and use that.

Your options extend to (prices are way off, but just to show the relative prices)...

Mbox (?300)
Digi001 (discountinued, and doesnt work with later than about Pro Tools 6.7)
Digi002 (?1000)

Or, if you want to go balls to the wall professional
HD(?20,000+)

Mbox only has 2 inputs, so if you want to record more than 2 things at once, you should look at a digi002. If you can stretch to the funds, you should do that anyway, its quite a bit better, and can record at higher resolution.

With a 002, you can record 8 (i think) at once, and you can use an SPDIF input to make this 16 (you would need something with 8 preamps on to do this, say an ADAT machine).

Pro Tools is a great piece of software, and I highly recommend it. If you've only used Stienberg products before (nuendo or cubase) it'll be like the first time you used broadband after years of dialup (once you get used to the change i guess).
_________________
Shabba.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blazin420ChronicSkunk
.
.


Joined: 08 Aug 2006
Posts: 53
Location: Pasadena, CA

PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 3:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Where do I buy this stuff, I'm not seeing any of it on music123...or I'm just confused.
_________________
http://www.myspace.com/sonicbloomtheband
Greed is a bottomless pit
And our freedom?s a joke
We?re just taking a piss
And the whole world must watch the sad comic display
If you?re still free start running away
Cause we?re coming for you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
James
Nutmeg


Joined: 13 Jul 2006
Posts: 10645
Location: Boxingham Palace

PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 3:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You also want Pro Tools LE, which is basically the version that everything but HD uses.

MF link

I've never used an MBox 2, but i've used an MBox an awful lot, and theyre pretty decent.
_________________
Shabba.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
More Cowbell
.
.


Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 6206
Location: Jefferson, GA

PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 3:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Protools FTW!

its real easy to use, and there is ton of help on digidesigns website and thier answerbase is the shit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Sloan
Sexy Predator


Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 11794
Location: Atlanta GA, USA!!!

PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 9:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

d00dz.

REAPER:
http://www.cockos.com/reaper/
_________________
Record your next album with me in Atlanta, GA. It'll be a good time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
Al_
.
.


Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 508992
Location: Vista, CA

PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Protools won't necessarily sound any better than other products--it's all in the interface (mic pres/converters). The stock mic pres and converters in the mbox and 002 are decent but not great.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
More Cowbell
.
.


Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 6206
Location: Jefferson, GA

PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 6:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also keep in mind that just about every major studio in the world uses protools for something, so if you record some kool as shit at your house before your band goes to a studio for a recording session, you can bring the file with you and use it in the studio.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Blazin420ChronicSkunk
.
.


Joined: 08 Aug 2006
Posts: 53
Location: Pasadena, CA

PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 10:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the help guys. I'm probably going to get the M-box.
_________________
http://www.myspace.com/sonicbloomtheband
Greed is a bottomless pit
And our freedom?s a joke
We?re just taking a piss
And the whole world must watch the sad comic display
If you?re still free start running away
Cause we?re coming for you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paul_
.
.


Joined: 27 Jul 2006
Posts: 8872

PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 10:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

my friend has the mbox and my brother has one too, they're cool.
_________________
Aug wrote:
which one of you bastards sent me an ebay question asking if you can get teh kurdtz with that 64 mustang? Mad

robertOG wrote:
fran & paul are some of the original gangstas of the JS days when you'd have to say "phuck"

Fran wrote:
Chamone motherfucker.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aen
Turdscreamer


Joined: 22 Apr 2006
Posts: 7533
Location: ELECTRIC WARRIOR

PostPosted: Sun Feb 11, 2007 12:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My friend works for digidesign. I'm getting a pretty good discount.
_________________
High quality, low popularity Ecstatic Fury
https://theronaldraygun.bandcamp.com/album/surrender-dorothy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Jesse
Neat


Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 558
Location: Vancouver, BC

PostPosted: Sun Feb 11, 2007 8:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you can, track down an old MBox as opposed to one of the 2's. The clock in the 2's isn't as reliable.


In fact, just get a Digi002 or a Tango! Very Happy
_________________
I see things and do stuff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vivadeluxxe
.
.


Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 1288
Location: Manchester

PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2007 1:11 am    Post subject: Re: Pro-Tools. Reply with quote

Blazin420ChronicSkunk wrote:
I'm looking into buying a computer, probably a Mac Laptop of some sort, and ProTools. I don't know shit about either though, and was wondering what you guys recommend. I want to be able to make good qaulity recordings, but not spend too much money.

If your gonna be buying a mac and you don't know an awful lot about digital recording I'd save your money, buy a decent firewire audio interface and use Garageband, it's got more than enough for your needs. It's a stripped down version of Apple Logic, so the sound quality and plug-ins are very good...
For home recording Pro Tools dos'nt perform any better than any other audio sequencer, it's only Pro Tool's high end stuff that's worth getting excited about...
_________________
http://vivadeluxxe.bandcamp.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
James
Nutmeg


Joined: 13 Jul 2006
Posts: 10645
Location: Boxingham Palace

PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2007 1:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd be tempted to say that the software interface is reason enough to go with Pro Tools, but then i havent used logic quite enough to make that a definite opinion. The PT one is bad ass though.
_________________
Shabba.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
a66jagdream
.
.


Joined: 28 Apr 2006
Posts: 176
Location: North Carolina

PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2007 1:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use garageband and a line6 toneport, and its great!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vivadeluxxe
.
.


Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 1288
Location: Manchester

PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2007 1:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bob wrote:
I'd be tempted to say that the software interface is reason enough to go with Pro Tools, but then i havent used logic quite enough to make that a definite opinion. The PT one is bad ass though.

Yeah it's good to use, altho I must say I've not used it for years, the last time I had the Pro Tools software it was on OS9...
I've spoke to loads of people who want to do recording on thier computers and want to use Pro Tools because it's 'Pro Tools', thinking it's merely just a piece of software thats better than the others, when in fact it's a intergrated audio solution for professional studios that costs thousands...
_________________
http://vivadeluxxe.bandcamp.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
James
Nutmeg


Joined: 13 Jul 2006
Posts: 10645
Location: Boxingham Palace

PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2007 4:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I agree with what youre saying here. When I have the cash to get some recording gear, I'll be going with Pro Tools because I've learnt to use the interface quite well already.

Pro Tools HD is indeed bad ass though, I wish I could've used it more than I did.
_________________
Shabba.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vivadeluxxe
.
.


Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 1288
Location: Manchester

PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2007 11:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah it's great. I tried out a whole rig once a few years ago at a Digidesign seminar in Manchester...

The demonstrator had somehow got hold of the original tracks of Bohemian Rhapsody and coverted them to digital audio to show off HDs features...

I had loads of fun putting Freddy Mercury's vocals through a vocoder etc
It was also kind of wierd listening back to the unmixed tracks and hearing them talking in the studio before each take...

I must say though, I couldn't actually tell any difference between 96 kHz and 192 kHz...
_________________
http://vivadeluxxe.bandcamp.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ShortScale Forum Index -> Playing Technique, Theory, Recording Tips, and Talk All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Anti Bot Question MOD - phpBB MOD against Spam Bots
Blocked registrations / posts: 594600 / 0

Guitars at Musician's Friend

Help support this site by clicking the above link!