Need new pots, halp?

Pickups, pedals, amps, cabs, combos

Moderated By: mods

Stan Kwervo

Need new pots, halp?

Post by Stan Kwervo »

I have a blacktop JM, which I think are starting to become associated with pots that are either on or off. I think I'm in need of new ones. Problem is, I have no experience with pots.

It has a humbucker in the bridge and single coil in the neck. After looking around the internet I think what I need are 500K audio for the volume and 500K linear for the tone, sound right?

I'm also wondering if someone could point me in the right direction of good quality pots. I wouldn't wanna order some and find out they work just as bad as the stock ones.

Thanks in advance and sorry if this is in the wrong section.
SKC Willie
Bunk Ass Fuck

Post by SKC Willie »

I would get these

They seem like they're good quality and pretty sure they should work in a Jazzy. Plus they're super cheap. You would need to buy knobs for it. You can look around that site and you can find some Jazzmaster knobs that will use the screws on the side.

Either way, I would go with 500k for sure. It doesn't really matter if you use audio or linear, they will both work. They'll just respond in different ways.
twitter.com/skcwillie

follow me . . . . you won't
Sloan
Sexy Predator

Post by Sloan »

Order both 500k and 300k pots, then use what you think sounds best.

There are a ton of places to find information on this stuff y'all!
Will
Up on his Whore Lore

Post by Will »

I think Audio gives a more even taper for tone than Linear. Other people think it's the other way around. Pretty much all pots dump all the treble within the last few degrees of their rotation.

But I think Audio responds more predictably.

Alpha (smaller) or CTS (tougher, but may not fit in pre-drilled holes) are the standards.
24HRS2MDNT

Post by 24HRS2MDNT »

God damn it! Its a Zombie Apocalypse. Do I have a baseball bat nearby?
SGJarrod

Post by SGJarrod »