Advice for buying drums for my daughter

For all non-guitar instruments; mandolins, synths, kazoos, and anything else musical that doesn't fit elsewhere.

Moderated By: mods

taylornutt

Advice for buying drums for my daughter

Post by taylornutt »

I am a complete noob when it comes to drums and drum kits. My youngest daughter really wants me to buy her some drums. I thought I would buy her a cheap drum kit made for smaller kids.

Any suggestions?
J Mascis Jazzmaster | AVRI Jaguar | Tuxedo-stang |Fender Toronado GT |
Squier FSR Sparkle Jaguar | Squier CV Mustang |1971 Fender Bronco| Baja Telecaster |
damienblair17

Post by damienblair17 »

If she's serious about drumming, spend a little extra on a full size kit. Like a good starter guitar, if it's a quality piece she'll be able to continue to use it once she moves on past the "beginner" phase. PDP, Sound percussion, and Ddrum make decent starter kits, all around $300 US.
Doog wrote:The perfect marriage of Teh Kurdtz and Teh Durstz.
RUN AMOK!

KESSEL RUN!
Billy3000

Post by Billy3000 »

I believe they make them in different sizes depending on age and how big your kid is. How old is she? The youngest drummer in any of the rock bands I've taught for my company was 9 and he handled a full sized kit perfectly fine. He was pretty small too, I thought he was younger than 9. I'd recommend going to guitar center and seeing what she can handle there. I'm pretty sure they usually have kid's size sets if you want to have her try one out, or if she's old/big enough to handle a regular size kit, see if she feels comfortable on one.
StevePirates

Post by StevePirates »

I'd recommend a full size kit. They are easier to sell if this turns out to be a passing phase, and you won't need to buy a new set once she outgrows them if this turns out to not be a passing phase.

My first kit was a set of Yamaha Stage Customs, and they make a really good kit for beginners.
taylornutt

Post by taylornutt »