95/96 Duosonic reissue mod suggestions

The original shortscale guitars; Mustangs, Duo-Sonics, Musicmasters, Jaguars, Broncos, Jag-stang, Jagmaster, Super-Sonic, Cyclone, and Toronados.

Moderated By: mods

kitt kat

95/96 Duosonic reissue mod suggestions

Post by kitt kat »

So I just bought a 95/96 DS reissue off Ebay for $160. Not exactly what I'd hoped to pay, but not horrible. (??)

I'm new to guitars; I'm a bass player myself with a '72 Musicmaster. I was really set on getting a MM guitar (or an older DS) but those have catapulted so far out of my price range that I figured a DS reissue wouldn't be the worst for a first electric guitar.

Anyway, I know these aren't "the best" and won't be worth a ton of money in the long run, so I want to make some modifications to it.

Definitely looking to swap out the pickguard, but that's minor. Would love to swap the pickups since I haven't read the best things about them — anyone have any experience with this?

Any other tips/recommendations for things I should consider or tell my guitar tech to fix?
singlepup

Post by singlepup »

I believe that Mustang pickups will fit Duos just fine... anyone else know about this?

So, you can definitely try to find some "vintage style" Mustang pickups to put in your Duo:

Lindy Fralin
Curtis Novak
Pickup Wizard

Those 90s Duos are definitely a good deal, but the scale is a bit shorter: 22.5" vs. 24" for a 70s Musicmaster or Duo.

How are you liking the scale so far? I have seen 70s Musicmasters around for about $400. Still out of price range?
honeyiscool

Post by honeyiscool »

Series mod, yo. It's a pain in the ass but the results are amazing.
Kicking and squealing Gucci little piggy.
spirograph

Post by spirograph »

got a red one. i put a BWB scratchplate on it, and a hot rails and a cool rails, both kent armstrong. i also managed to put a strat neck on mine, and now its a beast. the 6saddle toronado is a common mod for these duos too.
if i cant smoke and swear, im fu**ed
robroe