Amp advice: Twin Reverb, AC30, pedals... hmmm

Pickups, pedals, amps, cabs, combos

Moderated By: mods

Ankhanu

Amp advice: Twin Reverb, AC30, pedals... hmmm

Post by Ankhanu »

I've been playing through a 1972 Twin Reverb for about 7-8 years now, and it's been serving me superbly... but, I want some good tube overdrive, which it just doesn't offer, it's clean, clean, clean and a tiny bit of grit cranked. I like my tone to be a bit sparkly, and the Twin gives me most of what I want, just without the drive. Right now I have a Fulltone DP-1 and a Marshall Jackhammer for my drive/distortion, neither of which are quite the character I want (especially the Jackhammer, decent for bass, shit for guitar).

To this end, I've been craving a Vox AC30 for a while, and their Voxy sparkling overdrive goodness. A cranked AC30 is an absolutely beautiful thing. Problem is they're expensive :P There's currently one in the locally owned music shop in town, and AC30C1, for $900, which, AFAIR is a decent price. Unless I want to wait another year or so, I'd have to sell something, or a few somethings to get it... most valuable thing I have is probably my Twin. If I were to sell my Twin, I'm kinda scared of seller's remorse... I mean, an AC30 is a great classic amp, but, I really do like the Twin!

Alternatively, I could go with an amp in a box solution, like the new ProGuitarShop Catalinbread Galileo and just run it through my Twin... that might give me the Voxy dirt, with the same basic chime/sparkle, and all the clean headroom of the Twin, at a cost somewhat less than buying a whole new amp. Anyone have experience with this, or similar pedals with Fender amps? Are they convincing enough? Responsive? Other good suggestions?