Is the Squier VM Mustang worth the £255 you pay for it?

The original shortscale guitars; Mustangs, Duo-Sonics, Musicmasters, Jaguars, Broncos, Jag-stang, Jagmaster, Super-Sonic, Cyclone, and Toronados.

Moderated By: mods

ZombieLloyd

Is the Squier VM Mustang worth the £255 you pay for it?

Post by ZombieLloyd »

Basically, I only have around £260 to spend on a guitar at the end of the month and I've never tried a Squier or a Mustang before. I have a Fender Strat (not sure which model because it was given to me by my brother) that I really like. I play grunge (Nirvana or Mudhoney style) and metal. I got a guitar to play metal on for christmas and i'm looking for my next grunge guitar. I've heard some good things and some bad things about this so I thought I'd come here for a definitive yes or no. Thanks in advance for reading and posting.

Also would I be able to make a separate thread asking for someone to swap the bridge pickup when I get it? I would pay if necessary unless there is a rule I didn't read.
Last edited by ZombieLloyd on Thu Sep 13, 2012 11:25 am, edited 1 time in total.
othomas2

Post by othomas2 »

If you feel the mustang itself is a good option for you then I wouldn't hesitate.

One thing I was really concerned about these were the quality of the fretwork and sharp edges. Turns out that's probably one of the best parts about it. It has a chunkier neck which you may or may not like. I don't usually, but it feels good.

My biggest hates have been the bridge, and I didn't have enough patience to tinker with the tremolo.... so I swapped these out, flipped the tremolo, along with a pickup swap. Quite unintentionally Kurty.

BUT remember, this'll all add up the expenses.

When I got it there were some grounding issues which I resolved myself... so if there's more that one compare them to find a quiet one.