Poplar, Alder, Ash body comparison

Painting? Routing? Set-up tips? Or just straight-up making a guitar from scratch? Post here, and post pics!

Moderated By: mods

Crunch Berries

Poplar, Alder, Ash body comparison

Post by Crunch Berries »

Has anyone had the opportunity to actually compare different body woods on Mustang-style guitars- poplar, alder, and ash? I have a 76 Musicmaster (converted to a Duo Sonic) with a poplar body, and it is the best-sounding Fender I have ever personally owned, and I have owned vintage Fenders worth thousands before. It's a cheap guitar I slapped SD pickups in, and it just sounds awesome for no good reason really, and I can't stop playing it! On the other hand, I have a Warmoth ash-bodied project Duo which I haven’t quite dialed in yet. I have come to the conclusion that the neck is more responsible than the body for tone, but I still hear a wild difference between the poplar and ash. Poplar is often described as similar in tone to alder. Having owned alder strats before- I’m inclined to believe poplar and alder do not sound alike other than the same basic EQ. My poplar body guitar has the softness of attack which is not a decrease in treble, but notes come out clear and are never harsh. Alder to me sounds more like the middle ground of what I expect a body to sound like and lacks this velvety top end- but admittedly I have never played an alder Mustang/Duo. And my ash body has a scooped quality which can very easily make the treble and bass too brittle- it is much more finicky about pickups than I expected too, but like I say, this may be an imcompatability with the neck it has. I’m particularly interested how an alder body compares- but the only alder Mustang is the Cobain or a custom body, if anyone has tried these.
taylornutt

Post by taylornutt »