harping technique

For all non-guitar instruments; mandolins, synths, kazoos, and anything else musical that doesn't fit elsewhere.

Moderated By: mods

robert(original)

harping technique

Post by robert(original) »

so, i have been playing the harmonica now for about two months. I have a c,a, and an e, both the c, and a are marine bands and i love em! The "e" is a special 20 and its pretty decent but the number ten reed doesnt like to sound sometimes, i thoight it was dirty or something but no, it just likes being a bitch. Can anyone give me some good tips on bending and really getting the best sound possible out of harmonicas? I can play them well enough to accompany my guitar playing and can hasb out vocal melodies but i would like to learn how to really rip on it and become good enough to play it as a stand alone instrument.
George

Post by George »

there are loads of awesome youtube tutorials out there that are well worth a watch

its hard to describe but somethings are cool, like speaking syllables like TUKKA-TOODLE while playing it

draw on TUKKA, blow on TOODLE

that can give you a nice chugging rhythm. things like that made it the harmonica really interesting
Bacchus
Whatever's handiest

Post by Bacchus »

I found it easiest to learn to bend on the number 4 hole. Learn to do it on one harmonica first, then try other holes, then try other harmonicas.

Bending's really weird and hard to describe or do. Think of it like pulling the back of your throat downwards to make a bigger shape out of your mouth and throat.
George

Post by George »

speaking of harps

i'm thinking about getting a Gmaj or Emin harp today after work. the music i'm playing is mainly fingerstyle folky stuff in g major

would E minor be a good fit or will it colour the feel and be too insipid?
Johno

Post by Johno »

Listen to Little Walter
Bacchus
Whatever's handiest

Post by Bacchus »

George wrote:speaking of harps