Newmember project.

Painting? Routing? Set-up tips? Or just straight-up making a guitar from scratch? Post here, and post pics!

Moderated By: mods

ekalks

Newmember project.

Post by ekalks »

Hi. I 'm new to this forum and starting up a Squier Classic Vibe Duo-Sonic project.
I have a 1966 Musicmaster II that I modified about 25 years ago with a Seymour Duncan JB in the Bridge and a Hotrails in the neck. I absolutely love the neck on my Musicmaster II and was hoping to accomplish some similar vibe in the Duo sonic. I hace been looking around for quite some time to build a custom 24 inch scale Dinky or full sized body superstrat, but when I came across the Duo Sonic for $150.00 on the Best Buy website i couldn't resist. I haven't received the guitar as of yet.Image
Casual_Reader

Re: Newmember project.

Post by Casual_Reader »

ekalks wrote:...but when I came across the Duo Sonic for $150.00 on the Best Buy website i couldn't resist.
I saw those... fun. I was tempted.

take lots of pics as you go. :D
ekalks

I just received the Duo Sonic.

Post by ekalks »

I just received the Duo sonic. My first impressions are that this is a solid feeling guitar especially when comparing it to my 1966 Musicmaster II. It has a suprisingly nice neck. The guitar has a nice tone unplugged. It has a ring or resonance to it possibly due to the control cavity along with the wood. It's a little bit thicker than my Musicmaster, and the 1st to 6th string width is wider at the 12th fret.

After attempting to set it up, I noticed a slice in the nut where the g strings sits. I will have to replace the nut. Also one of the saddle scews where the the b string sits was stuck and I had to reverse it which let me lower the action. I will have to file down some of the screws, as they prevent me from doing any sort of palm muting comfortably. I also just purchased a Suhr Doug Aldrich Humbucker for the bridge position and a Seymour Duncan Hot rails for the neck position and will be installing them.