Building my wife a violin

For all non-guitar instruments; mandolins, synths, kazoos, and anything else musical that doesn't fit elsewhere.

Moderated By: mods

torchindy

Building my wife a violin

Post by torchindy »

So my wife has always been an amazing musician - she plays the piano at some high conservatory level, guitar, and violin. The violin is her favourite though, and she's only got a couple of mediocre ones. So I decided I'd try my hand at building one of the kits from StewMac for her, for her birthday which is coming up. I'm a carpenter by trade so all the woodwork stuff is pretty familiar to me, but this is the first acoustic instrument I've built. I'm going to stain it using ReRanch green wood dye (green is her favourite colour) and then spray a nitro topcoat. Going to try and do a wiped-on burst on the top. Non-traditional finish for violins, but it seems to have worked for acoustic guitars forever, so...

Anyway I've been home sick for a couple of days which has given me the chance to get started. Yesterday I sanded the thing forever down to 320(I think it's only rough-cnc'd before it's sent out). Also shaped & sanded the neck etc.

carved the bass bar by hand, then sanded & glued in. I made a custom label with her name on it and glued it inside, below where the F hole will be. Then after test fitting I glued the top on:

Oh yeah, last night I hid it in my Jag case to dry. She never has reason to look in there. 8)
Last edited by torchindy on Wed Apr 16, 2014 11:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
torchindy

Post by torchindy »

Today I cut the mortise for the neck. Easily the most finicky thing I have ever done to a piece of wood. Had to be exact! A paper's width too much or too little in any spot means it wouldn't be at the right angle for the bridge, and too wide and the neck wouldn't have any strength. Too narrow and it obviously wouldn't fit.