Essential items

The original shortscale guitars; Mustangs, Duo-Sonics, Musicmasters, Jaguars, Broncos, Jag-stang, Jagmaster, Super-Sonic, Cyclone, and Toronados.

Moderated By: mods

Chorlton

Essential items

Post by Chorlton »

I'm asking this out of curiosity as my brother and I are building a guitar and I'm wondering what everyone considers a total must have in their axe. Switch in a certain position, bridge type, type of finish whatever. I think I need a flat radius and medium frets as I started playing classical way back when and it seems natural to me. Lemme know yours, I'd be interested.
Nick
Y'SEE!?

Post by Nick »

Finish - thin is preferred. I like being able to wear something in.
Frets- anything smaller than medium jumbo.
Knobs and switches - easy to reach but not in the way.

Also prefer necks to have a unique feel-hence the reason everything from China feels like an epiphone.
Noirie.
YOUTH

Post by Noirie. »

Bridge pickup, hardtail, kluson tuners. Mustang shaped with shortscale neck. Give a fuck about frets or radius.
theshadowofseattle wrote:less being WOKE
more being STOKED
laterallateral
Traynor or Death

Post by laterallateral »

As much as I love the look of a bound guitar, I really have a hard time playing them without injuring my wrists.
Same with some thicker bodied slab designs. I need curves and shit.
Last edited by laterallateral on Fri Sep 19, 2014 3:05 pm; edited 115,726 times in total
speedfish

Post by speedfish »

laterallateral wrote:As much as I love the look of a bound guitar, I really have a hard time playing them without injuring my wrists.
Same with some thicker bodied slab designs. I need curves and shit.
Me too. Contours. Tummy and Arm.

It should balance well whether you are sitting or standing with it.
Disciple of Pain

"I'm like the monkey screwing the skunk. I haven't had enough, but I've about had all that I can stand!"

"Born to Lose. Live to Win." Lemmy Kilmister
StevePirates

Post by StevePirates »