Introduce me to synthesizers and similar stuff

For all non-guitar instruments; mandolins, synths, kazoos, and anything else musical that doesn't fit elsewhere.

Moderated By: mods

Golden_Sonic

Introduce me to synthesizers and similar stuff

Post by Golden_Sonic »

I'm fascinated by synthesizers but I'm a total noob and this field is a jungle for me. I know that Akai and Korg make some little affordable devices and I'm looking at this VOLCA series of synths/sequencers, they're really intriguing. I'd like to play something electronic in order to add some little parts in some songs or just for experimenting but I don't want to spend a fortune and regret myself for an incautious purchase. I have an old Yamaha RY20 and it should be a drum machine, it belongs to my dad but I find it quite frustrating as a stand-alone and I still can't understand how to make it work properly, moreover it can't be connected to a PC.
I'd like to learn more about this kind of instruments and have some suggestions on what to buy, if there are some programs for PC that can work.
-Guitar: Squier VM Mustang, Squier CV '50 Duo Sonic;
-Amplifier: Hughes&Kettner Blue Edition 60;
-FXs: Dunlop Cry Baby GCB-95 Wah, Boss BD-2 Blues Drive, Proco RAT, Danelectro Cool Cat Tremolo, EH Small Clone, MUZA FD900, Bespeco Volume pedal.
NickS

Post by NickS »

It can be connected to a PC through the MIDI interface.
Fakir Mustache

Post by Fakir Mustache »

You should probably stay away from all of them if you're not going to read the manual. They're not guitars or guitar pedals.
lorez

Post by lorez »

There are loads of places to start but if you want to replicate a certain sound or inspired by a certain music that might be a good place for us to start recommendations
plopswagon wrote:I like teles and strats because they're made out of guitar.
robroe wrote:I dont need a capo. I have the other chords in my tonefingers
BearBoy

Post by BearBoy »