Budget mics for recording vocals

Pickups, pedals, amps, cabs, combos

Moderated By: mods

sunshiner

Budget mics for recording vocals

Post by sunshiner »

Total noob here. I have just been offered to buy a Behringer C1 condenser mic, but after reading about it and watching some reviews it turns out it's not what they advertise it to be and supposedly isn't that good. What mic do you use? Is it on a budget side of things or some $100 000 Neumann? What mic would you recommend?
matte30is wrote:Someone man up and get a balloon.
Freddy V-C
NOD FLANGERS

Post by Freddy V-C »

I mostly use an Audio Technica AT2020 for vocals, it seems to be a good “all-rounder� in terms of cheap large diaphragm condensers. I’ve had success using it for vocals, on guitar cabs, for drum overheads (I actually have two of these mics), as an ambient room mic, probably various other stuff I can’t think of. I’m not sure how much they’ll cost in Kazakhstan, but here in the UK they’re about £85, bargain!
mickie08

Post by mickie08 »

I am no expert at all ut I have one of these and seems to work well

Not sure on UK price.

http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail ... lsrc=aw.ds
They say great minds think alike....Sometimes we do too...
dezb1
The Oppressor

Post by dezb1 »

SM58 - fuck an mic that wants batteries or spooky power.
XY
Freddy V-C
NOD FLANGERS

Post by Freddy V-C »

SM58s are decent, but if you’re gonna go down that route then I’d suggest a Shure Beta 57 instead. All the best bits of the SM57 and the SM58, and more versatile than either of those, IMO.
Josh
The Curmudgeon

Post by Josh »

agree on the beta 57, but I own a couple 58s and like those, also got this harp mic that sounds pretty cool doing vocals.
plopswagon
cutesy tag

Post by plopswagon »

It doesn’t matter if you’re just gonna run it through a Rat pedal.
► Show Spoiler
ekwatts wrote: Wed Dec 21, 2022 12:53 pm The word "moisty" has made me irrationally angry.
Thom
lamp

Post by Thom »