'99 Stratocaster pickup query

Talk about all other types of guitars. Jazzmasters and basses go here!

Moderated By: mods

NickS

'99 Stratocaster pickup query

Post by NickS »

Do these look right for a '99 USA Stratocaster?
► Show Spoiler
Personal pronouns he/him
Nick
Y'SEE!?

Re: '99 Stratocaster pickup query

Post by Nick »

I’m not an expert but pretty sure only MIM standard and lower were using bar magnets on single coils. Doesn’t look right to me on a 99.

Edit: way back machine confirmed a USA standard strat back then would have “delta tone” system pickups, which were just Alnico 5’s
Attachments
IMG_0071.png
IMG_0071.png (538.19 KiB) Viewed 1023 times
Nick
Y'SEE!?

Post by Nick »

The controls also look sus.
NickD

Post by NickD »

As Nick says, the controls don’t look right too. TBH it looks like someone’s transferred the electrics from an import/copy.
Nick
Y'SEE!?

Post by Nick »

How many Nicks does it take to spot a fake loaded pickguard?
NickS

Post by NickS »

I also think the last figure of the date looks dodgy.
Personal pronouns he/him
NickS

Post by NickS »

Looks like it's disappeared from eBay.
Personal pronouns he/him
NickS

Post by NickS »

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/145371276636
Best offer accepted at 20:30 BST. I hope the buyer knew what they were getting.
Personal pronouns he/him
MattK

Post by MattK »

yeah that is some no-name off-brand bullshit there! The nerve.
Nick
Y'SEE!?

Post by Nick »

Bridge is also clearly not Fender. Yikes.

Neck looks legit at least?
MattK

Post by MattK »

The hole routed in the body under the pickguard indicates Mexican made. Neck looks legit if the decal is real, but there is something odd about the gold in the logo that makes me wonder.
paul_

Post by paul_ »

Might be an American Traditional neck with an MIM or Squier body, but it does have the US-specific microtilt route in the neck pocket. With prices these days it might not actually be that much of a rip-off.