Newbie... First Duo Sonic Project, First Post here.

Painting? Routing? Set-up tips? Or just straight-up making a guitar from scratch? Post here, and post pics!

Moderated By: mods

JamGuy

Newbie... First Duo Sonic Project, First Post here.

Post by JamGuy »

Hello folks, I'm new to the world of Fender short scale guitars in terms of building one. For the past month I've been hung up on building a hotrod Duo Sonic II, and yesterday I took the plunge. I found a '66 neck and what the seller was claiming to be an early 70's Musicmaster body. The body is white and it has the mid 60's Duo Sonic cutouts... like a Mustang w/o the trem rout. I ordered a cream pearl colored p/g from WD without the slider control holes... my plan is to install a right angle (SG style) toggle in approximately the same area that the original DS toggles were located. I know it will require some routing but I'm comfortable with the job.

I wanted to give this thing a different personality than the "standard" Duo Sonic and decided to go for a Dimarzio Fast Track 1 in the neck, and a Dimarzio Super Distortion S in the bridge. My plan is to add a small toggle between the two knobs for coil splitting the bridge... I have a two strats, both equipped with full size SDs and they sound great split... I'm hoping the little version does too. Basically I just need to wait for things to arrive, design a clean way to get the body routed and wired up and get to work. Here's a pick of the look I'm going for... the Mustang builder is fun, I just found it today! Anyhow, I'm sure I'll have some questions ... probably about how to successfully ground things properly to keep it quiet. Cheers, JG

Dave
TOTALLY MODD

Post by Dave »

Welcome to the forum. Looks a cool project!
iCEByTes wrote:5 Most Jizz face maker Solo�s , classic Rock music i ever listened.
iCEByTes wrote:Blunt a joint , Take the Touch , Listen this.
luciguci

Post by luciguci »